SPOTLIGHT: London Borough of Brent Embraces a Shared Service Culture

Gerry

SPOTLIGHT: London Borough of Brent Embraces a Shared Service Culture

We have worked with the team over at London Borough of Brent for a good number of years now.  Back in 2016 they transitioned from an on-premise Supportworks deployment to Hornbill Service Manager in the cloud as their service management solution. I was talking to Nasim about their journey, and he was kind enough to share his story with me; here is what he had to say. 

Can you give me a brief background of who you are and what your role is at London Borough of Brent?

My name is Nasim Gani, I am the Problem and Service Improvement Manager at London Borough of Brent, but I also cover Change and Project Management for various IT related applications.  My background is in Desktop Support and my previous roles as Team leader and Helpdesk Manager made me a natural choice to work with Hornbill.

What Service Desk tool(s) were in place at London Borough of Brent before you deployed Hornbill Service Manager?

We were using Hornbill Supportworks (onsite installation since 2012) before we moved to Hornbill Service Manager. The main reason for changing was the expansion of our IT service provision. We are now sharing our IT Service with other London Boroughs. We went from approx. 80 analysts and 3000 customers to 160 analysts and 9000+ customers. We identified the need for a better Self-Service Portal as we do not take any requests via the phone, our customers instead request for help or make service requests via a single shared portal which needed to be very intuitive, and Hornbill Service Manager with its Service-centric approach is what attracted me to Service Manager.

What other service desk tools have you used in the past? How does Hornbill Service Manager compare in your opinion?